top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRhiannon

My Other Half

“You’re my other half,” a phrase that has been spoken a million times. A message we have repeatedly heard in all the romance movies, proposal speeches, wedding vows. Even something you might say every day to your significant other. It’s a divine thing to say and a wondrous thing to hear. When someone you love expresses to you that you are not only part of their life, but part of their being, part of what makes them whole, it’s breathtaking. But what happens when you realize more people in your life come together to make you who you are. To create, in a sense, you. Why are we just splitting halfsies?

My parents not only gave me life scientifically speaking, but they also raised me to be the woman I am today. To be kind and understanding to others. To give without expecting, love without judgment, and be grateful for every blessing in my life. They are my other half. My awe-inspiring sister shares my DNA; we also share the same passion for music and sports, the same humor, the same horrific fear of spiders. My older sister I have spent my entire life looking up to. Who never fails to help me up when I fall. Who reminds me every day how to be brave and pushes me to be the best version of myself. She is my other half. My phenomenal soul sister, one of the most incredible women I have ever had the privilege of knowing and a ray of pure sunshine in my life. One of those people you just know God had planned for you to find and go through life with because you need each other. She is my other half. My very best friends, a group of misfits, found their way to each other because he went to high school with a guy who fell in love with a girl. And she had a sister who was meant to spend the rest of her life with her sister’s boyfriend’s best friend (yes, that does make sense, hahaha). He went to college with a girl’s older sister, and now years later, not a day goes by where we don’t spend hours talking. We find ways to stay connected through gaming and getting together when we can. All of these people, you feel like you’ve known each other your whole life. You have a connection and support each other through thick and thin. They are my other half.

The girlfriend that came to a New Year’s Eve party; was shy and kept to herself most of the night. Then once we started talking, we couldn’t stop, and we haven’t stopped since. There is always more to laugh and ramble on about. More hugs to share, advice to give. She is my other half. The man that said hi to me online and spent 10 hours on a video call with me the first time we talked “face to face.” (Thank you, Covid) A gentleman in every way who has accepted all of me and loves me at my worst. Who has gone the extra mile, or 50, so we can be together and share our crazy lives with each other. He is my other half.

Since day one, my grandmother has been there for everything. All the concerts and sporting events. The bonfires in her backyard and her house, where so many precious memories live. Holidays we spend together and her warm hugs accompanied with the phrase “my beautiful girl.” Service dog Wilson saves my life every day. He loves to work and is so good at it. He’s an old soul that is so comforting and goofy. The miracle that my sweet baby niece or nephew is growing inside their mommy. A true gift of life that I have the honor to be part of. To pass on what I have learned and to show them how magical life can be. All of them are my other half.

Thus came my epiphany. Everything that I am, every piece of my being, my very essence is not simply made by the two x chromosomes my parents gave me. No single person has connected all of my dots and engineered me to be what I am today. I am made of a culmination of every soul that I love and of every soul that loves me. It isn’t halves or quarters or even sixteenths; it is immeasurable. I am a body woven together by the love of every spirit that has come into my life. I am me because of all of you. What a beautiful thing.


89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page